Creative Design + Advertising

The Gold Medal of the Society was first bestowed in 1972 to honour the International Geographical Union (IGU) for choosing Canada as the venue of its 22nd International Congress, and to recognize the achievements of the IGU President.

The Martin Bergamann medal was established by the Royal Canadian Geographical Society in 2012, the medal recognizes achievement for “excellence in Arctic leadership and science”.

The Massey medal was established in 1959 by the Massey Foundation, the Massey Medal is awarded annually by the Society. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding career achievement in the exploration, development or description of the geography of Canada.

The Sir Christopher Ondaatje Medal recognizes outstanding Canadian explorers for extraordinary achievement through expedition(s) in Canada or abroad, or a citizen of another country for extraordinary exploratory achievement and expedition(s) within Canada.